Twas the night before testing…

images-1

photograph courtesy of Common Dreams  

and I’m too exhausted to be clever.

Tomorrow, April 1, 2014, marks opening day of year two of the New York State Common Core assessments in English-language arts (ELA) and math. Like last year, I will be administering the tests to 5th grade English-language learners (ELLs) and to former English-language learners who are entitled to extended time (time and a half).

But I do so grudgingly – with a heavy heart – as I strongly oppose these invalid tests.  They are meaningless, exploitative and cruel.  As a proud member of MORE UFT, I stand in support of NYS parents and educators who are doing the right thing by refusing the 2014 tests, thereby starving the beast.

Over the next few weeks, I will be posting testimonials of the administration of this year’s tests.  Parents, educators and students across New York State – please share with me your own testing experience and I will include it on my blog (you may choose to remain anonymous).

With thanks,

Katie

 

3 thoughts on “Twas the night before testing…

  1. I opted my child out of tests today and his principals honored my request. They explained my child would be administered a portfolio assessment that is not as extensive as the Common Core and therefore would not offer a comprehensive evaluation of his academic skills.
    My child is a NYC public school student in an “outer borough” and I’m wondering where are the non-participants in my area? Where is the voice of opposition from teachers/educators around these parts?
    I am sure they are just as frustrated but it may be more frustrating that they might be bound to silence by school authorities and/or leadership.

  2. After my daughter sat for 140 minutes X 6 days of testing last year, we decided to homeschool this year. We are enjoying our new found freedom!

Leave a comment