Principal: John King Hurt My Students

“Should John King resign? No. He should be removed.”

Diane Ravitch's blog

In response to my call for John King’s resignation, this principal in New York wrote:

“Thank you, Diane! Last night I finally had the heart to review my school’s test scores, child by child. As I read their names and numbers, I saw their little faces on the days of the testing, so many in tears, and I cried.

“This is so wrong for children.

“I have an excellent school, smart, hard-working kids and outstanding teachers. My students were not 30% smarter a year ago, but John King has deliberately turned many of them into “failures.”

“In the year ahead, the students will not miraculously get 50% smarter or the teachers suddenly better, yet I already know that the scores will go up – so that John King can look like a hero on the backs of little children. Mean-spirited is too kind a word.

“Should John King resign? No…

View original post 4 more words

Leave a Reply

